A Primary Trust
for Primary Schools

Find Out More
The Echelford Primary School

Year 6

Throughout Years 1-6 the learning is focused on mastering the end of year objectives set out in the 2014 National Curriculum. In Years 1 & 2 the children follow the Key Stage 1 programmes of study as outlined in the National Curriculum and in Years 3, 4, 5 & 6 they follow the Key Stage 2 programmes. The National Curriculum for both key stages consists of the core subjects: Mathematics, English, Science and Computing; and the foundation subjects; History, Geography, Design & Technology, Art and Design, Music, and P.E. The Surrey Agreed Syllabus is used for the teaching of Religious Education (R.E).  Within Key Stage 2 the pupils also get the opportunity to learn French from a specialist languages teacher.

Children are taught in mixed ability classes throughout the school. They progress through the classes according to age except in very exceptional instances where the individual needs of the child make an alternative programme necessary.

Year 6 consists of a variety of learning experiences. The children work very hard all year round to ensure that sitting their SATs is a calm and familiar experience; allowing them to display their fantastic achievements. Daily teaching of Maths and Literacy, along with many booster groups and afternoon Maths and Grammar Meetings allow for the children to be exposed to learning experiences that will enable them to feel confident about the SATs week.

A particular highlight for the Year 6 children is their end of year production. This is an experience that shows off the children’s many talents and allows them to collaborate with their peers through either the performing or the backstage assistance. It is a celebration of their time at Echelford and a fond memory for many.

The Echelford Primary School